Committees & Task Forces

Volunteers wanted!

We are seeking volunteers for several committees. INS members in good standing may nominate themselves for positions on the Nominating Committee, Program Committee, or the Communication, Outreach, and Membership Committee. To be considered, send a current curriculum vitae and a statement of interest describing what you can bring to your preferred committee. Send your submission to Karen Graham ([email protected]) by January 27.

If you would like to serve on a committee or task force, contact Karen Graham.

INS members can also join our topical Affinity Group. Members discuss issues at the Annual Meeting and collaborate on special projects and publications.

  • Cognitive Enhancement
  • Deep Brain Stimulation and Neural Engineering
  • Global Health and Neuroethics
  • Neuroscience and Free Will
  • Brain-Based Legal Implications
  • Neuroscience and National Security
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Addiction Neuroethics

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Board is responsible for deliberating on key issues facing the Society and formulating and advancing strategic initiatives to be carried out by other committees and task forces. Committee members include the current President and members of the Board.


  • Nita Farahany, Duke Law School (USA)


  • Martha Farah, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
  • Joseph J. Fins, Weill Cornell Medical College (USA)
  • Hank Greely, Stanford University (USA)
  • Debra JH Mathews, Johns Hopkins University (USA)
  • Helen Mayberg, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (USA)
  • Ilina Singh, University of Oxford (UK)
  • Paul Root Wolpe, Emory University (USA)

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is responsible for maintaining a viable leadership structure, recommending updates to the bylaws and terms of reference, and overseeing the succession planning process for President, President-Elect, Board members, committee chairs, and other Society leadership positions. Committee members are selected from current members of the Board.


  • Debra JH Mathews, Johns Hopkins University (USA)


  • Mo Costandi, The Guardian (UK)
  • Nita Farahany, Duke Law School (USA)

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee recommends individuals to serve on the Board of Directors and for the office of President, President-elect/Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer. The committee also reviews nominations provided by the membership before the election.

We are currently accepting volunteer nominations for this committee — see above.


  • Joseph J. Fins, Weill Cornell Medical College (USA)


  • Matthew L. Baum, Harvard Medical School (USA)
  • William Cheshire, Mayo Clinic, USA
  • Cynthia Forlini, University of Sydney (Australia)
  • Samia Hurst-Majno, University of Geneva – UNIGE (Switzerland)
  • Karen S. Rommelfanger, Emory University (USA)
  • Arleen Salles, Uppsala University (Sweden)


  • Karen Graham, INS Executive Director

Program Committee

The Program Committee is responsible for the annual meeting, including identifying suitable topics and speakers, reviewing suggestions, and reviewing abstract and poster submissions from the Society's membership. Members of the committee are responsible for finding a suitable venue, managing event advertisement/promotion, and media outreach.

We are currently accepting volunteer nominations for this committee — see above. Committee members will help plan the 2020 INS Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

The following committee members organized the 2019 INS Annual Meeting


  • Ilina Singh, University of Oxford (UK)
  • Arleen Salles, Uppsala University (Sweden)


  • Adrian Carter, Monash University (Australia)
  • Jennifer Chandler, University of Ottawa (Canada)
  • Hannah Maslen, University of Oxford (UK)
  • Roland Nadler, University of Ottawa (Canada)
  • Anna Wexler, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
  • Paul Root Wolpe, Emory University (USA)


  • Karen Graham, INS Executive Director
  • Robert Beets, INS Website/Communications Director

Communication, Outreach, and Membership Committee

The Communication, Outreach and Membership Committee is responsible for coordinating communication and outreach efforts, cultivating membership, facilitating relationships on behalf of the Society, and advising the Board on priorities and strategies to promote growth and the interests of the Society.

We are currently accepting volunteer nominations for this committee — see above.


  • Mo Costandi, The Guardian (UK)


  • Matt Baum, Harvard University (USA)
  • Laura Cabrera, Michigan State University (USA)
  • Carlos Faraco, National Institute of Justice (USA)
  • Fabrice Jotterand, Medical College of Wisconsin (USA)
  • Denis Larrivee, Loyola University Chicago (USA)
  • Julie Robillard, University of British Columbia (Canada)


  • Robert Beets, INS Website/Communications Director

Student/Postdoc Committee

The Student/Postdoc Committee represents early career members of the INS, their interests, and makes recommendations to the Board regarding initiatives affecting students and postdoc members. The committee currently manages an annual essay contest and contributes to the development of mentoring activities for Society members. An established INS member serves as a faculty mentor to the committee.


  • Roland Nadler, University of British Columbia (Canada)


  • Katherine Bassil, Maastricht University (The Netherlands)
  • Tabitha Moses, Wayne State University School of Medicine (USA)
  • Abidemi Otaiku, National Health Service (UK)
  • Armani Porter, Duke University (USA)
  • Joshua Preston, University of Minnesota (USA)
  • Farhad Udwadia, University of British Columbia (Canada)


  • Andrea Giuffrida, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (USA)


  • Karen Graham, INS Executive Director
  • Robert Beets, INS Communications Director

Emerging Issues Advisory Task Force

The Emerging Issues Advisory Task Force advises and assists INS in strengthening its international voice in the field of neuroethics by providing expertise, analysis and guidance for professionals, policy makers, the media and the general public on the ethical and policy issues associated with advances in neuroscience.

If you believe there is an issue that the Society should consider officially addressing, please email your suggestions to [email protected] with the subject line: "Emerging Issue for Consideration." Submissions should include sufficient detail so that the Task Force can appreciate why you believe the matter should be a priority for INS action. All submissions will be acknowledged.


  • Laura Cabrera, Michigan State University (USA)


  • Adrian Carter, Monash University (Australia)
  • Jennifer Chandler, University of Ottawa (Canada)
  • Philipp Kellmeyer, University Freiburg (Germany)
  • Karola Kreitmair, Stanford University (USA)
  • Anthony Weiss, SUNY Upstate Medical University (USA)

Membership Task Force

The Membership Task Force focuses on increasing and diversifying the Society’s membership.